Lleonard Balada
(Sant Just Desvern, 1933- )

He trained at the Conservatori del Liceu in Barcelona, ??where he studied piano and theory. In 1956 he moved to the United States where he graduated from the Julliard School of Music (1960) and from the New York College of Music (1961-62). During that stage he was a disciple of Aaron Copland among others. He also studied at the Instrumental Walden School in New York and was head of the Music department of the United Nations International School. Professor of composition at Carnegie-Mellon University since 1970, he is a member of the American Music Center and the Hispanic American Society. A prolific and internationally renowned composer, his works have been performed by great groups such as the New York Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic or the London Philharmonic, among others. In 1993 he received the National Music Prize of the Generalitat of Catalonia. His catalog of works is vast and includes symphonic works, concerts for various instruments, operas, choral works, band music, works for solo instruments and chamber music.

Balada can be considered the quintessential post-modernist composer, since he has assimilated all the trends and techniques of the 20th century and has incorporated them into a personal language in which an authentic synthesis of styles is perceived. In his writing there are abrupt contrasts of ideas and dynamics, juxtaposition of opposite harmonies, mechanical passages in layers of staccato writing, rhythmic constancy and, above all, a determined sense of direction in form and drama.


Lleonard Balada Web

Recordings of his works in Naxos


Adagio No 1, for solo violin

Adagio No 2, for solo violin

Preludi obstinat No 4, for piano

Preludi obstinat No 5, for piano